Can you get a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs?


California is regarded by some as a state that is permissive when it comes to the use of mind-altering substances. It should be noted, however, that California will prosecute those who indulge in even legal substances before getting behind the wheel of a car. Learn more about how you could get charged with a DUI even if you didn’t take a drink of alcohol below.

DUIs in California apply to alcohol, marijuana, and other drugs

In San Diego, the law allows officers to arrest anyone suspected of driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Across the country, the most common causes of a DUI arrest include alcohol, marijuana, and prescription opioids respectively. Alcohol continues to remain the leading cause of DUIs.

How can an officer prove drug intoxication?

An officer can prove you are intoxicated by initiating a field sobriety test. If the driver allegedly fails the test, then an arrest is possible. A breathalyzer or positive drug test isn’t necessary to prove that a driver is impaired.

Consequences of a DUI conviction in San Diego

The consequences of a DUI conviction in San Diego can be severe depending on your own conviction history, whether your DUI also involved an accident and other factors. For a first-time DUI, expect to lose your license and potentially spend up to a year in jail. You could also get hit with fines up to $2,300, and you might also get sentenced to probation for up to 5 years.

What to do if you get arrested for a DUI in California

In California, you can get convicted of a DUI if prosecutors can prove that you were driving while under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, prescription pills, or any other type of controlled substance. If you’ve been accused of a DUI, then it makes the most sense to consult with a defense attorney about how to move forward.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Share To: