Driving with a Suspended License

San Diego Attorney for Driving on a Suspended License

Driving on a suspended license in California is unlawful. If you are stopped by law enforcement, and this offense is discovered, you face legal consequences. You can turn to The Law Offices of Casey & Angelos for experienced legal representation if you have been charged with this offense.

We understand the complexities and stress associated with this situation. Our experienced attorney is well-versed in California’s driving laws and is ready to help protect your rights. We strongly urge you to discuss the details of your case in a complimentary consultation to learn more about where you stand and your available options. 

Contact The Law Offices of Casey & Angelos to arrange for your free consultation with our San Diego lawyer for driving on a suspended license at (619) 930-5490. We serve clients throughout San Diego County, Orange County, and Riverside County.

Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in California

Driving on a suspended license is a Violation of License Provisions under Vehicle Code 14601.1

Under this law, it is unlawful for anyone to drive on a suspended or revoked license if that person “knows of the suspension or revocation.” The law presumes you know if you received a mailed notice of suspension or revocation by the DMV. The statement was mailed to your most recent address and was not returned as undeliverable. That is all the proof needed for the court to prosecute you. 

License suspensions are part of the penalties for DUI convictions. 

Your license can also be suspended or revoked in other situations, such as:

  • Reckless driving
  • Driving without insurance
  • Having accumulated too many demerit points on your driving record
  • Failure to appear in court for a traffic ticket
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to submit to an alcohol or drug chemical test


Since the establishment of this law firm in 1998, we have strived to provide our clients with the highest quality representation and a level of customer service that is unparalleled by any firm anywhere.
  • Super Lawyers
  • The National College for DUI Defense
  • California DUI Lawyers Association
  • Avvo Rating 10
  • Best of the Bar
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • Trial Skills University
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

This offense is prosecuted as a misdemeanor. In a first conviction, the penalties include probation for up to three years, up to six months of jail time, or a fine of up to $1,000. If your license was suspended due to a DUI conviction, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to three years.

In a second conviction within five years, the penalties generally range from five days up to a year of jail time and fines of $500 up to $2,000. Depending on the circumstances, you may also face the ignition interlock device requirement. 

Legal Defense for Driving on a Suspended License

Driving on a suspended or revoked license in California can result in serious legal consequences, including fines, vehicle impoundment, and even jail time. If you have been charged with this offense, it is crucial to seek legal representation from an experienced attorney who can protect your rights and advocate on your behalf.

At The Law Offices of Casey & Angelos, our team has a proven track record of successfully defending clients facing driving on a suspended license charges. We understand the complexities of California traffic laws and will work diligently to build a strong defense strategy tailored to your specific case.

Our legal services for driving on a suspended license include:

  • Legal guidance and representation in court
  • Negotiation with prosecutors for reduced charges or penalties
  • Exploration of potential defenses, such as lack of knowledge of suspension or emergency circumstances
  • Protection of your driving privileges

Don't navigate the legal system alone. Contact our San Diego attorney for driving on a suspended license to schedule a consultation and discuss your case.

Work with a Trusted Defense Attorney in San Diego

Our law firm is dedicated to defending drivers facing DUI and DUI-related charges, such as driving on a suspended license. We do nothing else, which is why we are the go-to resource for clients in Southern California.

With 25+ years of experience, top legal industry ratings, countless client referrals, and an impressive track record of successful results, our firm can help you at this critical time. We will thoroughly analyze your case, explore all possible defenses, and fight tenaciously for you in court. 

We’re committed to minimizing the impact of such charges on your life. We aim to help you preserve your freedom, financial stability, and driving privileges. 

Don’t let a suspended license charge derail your life. Get in touch with us today by contacting us online or calling 619-930-5490.

Continue Reading Read Less


Frequently Asked Questions

Have questions? We are here to help. Still have questions or can't find the answer you need? Give us a call at 619-930-5490 today!

  • I was not drunk. Can I be charged with DUI for smoking marijuana or taking prescription medications?
    If you were arrested for DUI but didn’t have alcohol in your system, you can still be charged with DUI. There are a number different charges associated with misdemeanor and felony DUI. You can be charged with an (f) count if you consumed any intoxicating drugs, regardless of whether they are illegal or prescription. But, if you were under the influence of both alcohol and drugs, then you can be charged with an (e) count for driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
  • Aren’t the police supposed to read me my Miranda rights?
    It seems like common sense that an officer must read you your Miranda rights. Although this is true in a situation where you are being interrogated, for purposes of DUI, you don’t have that same right. Many times an officer will ask you questions prior to administering field sobriety tests and placing you under arrest. These questions have been classified as “pre-investigatory” questions and are not subject to Miranda. Therefore, it is important you speak with an experience DUI Defense Firm to know whether or not the failure to read you your rights will affect your case.
  • I was involved in an accident and someone was injured. Will I be charged with a Felony?
    Maybe. You can be charged with Felony DUI whenever anyone other than yourself is injured. Even if the injuries were to a friend and their injuries are minor, you can still be charged with a felony. Penalties for a Felony DUI can be severe because your can face time in prison.

Contact Us

For Immediate Help
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy