The costly consequences of DUIs

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in California can have deadly and costly consequences. The legal drinking age in California is 21, and no one younger than that may possess alcohol in a car unless accompanied by a parent. California laws Any open containers must remain in the trunk of your vehicle. You may face a DUI charge if you are 21 or older and driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher or a commercial driver with a BAC of .04% or higher. The DUI charge is usually a misdemeanor but may escalate to a felony after four or more convictions, injuries or death. Misdemeanor penalties include fines from $390 to $1,000, a maximum of six months in jail and a three-year suspended license. Felony charges with injuries may result in a $390 to $5,000 fine and a maximum of four years in prison. If there is a death, the offender may face life in prison. Associated fees The DUI fine is not the only out-of-pocket fee you’ll have to pay if you’re convicted. Some associated costs may include the following: Bail costs ($100 to $2,500) Automobile impound fees ($100 to $1,200) DMV fees ($20 to $200) Traffic school ($350 to $2,000) Attorney fees Court costs Increased automobile insurance premium Property damage If the police arrest you on a DUI charge, the consequences can be harsh. However, the judge has considerable leeway when it comes to sentencing. Present your best possible defense.The post The costly consequences of DUIs first appeared on The Law Offices of Casey & Angelos.
Share To: